SENSEX
NIFTY
GOLD
USD/INR

Weather

29    C
... ...View News by News Source

Wake-up call for Gilgit-Baltistan

In a desperate attempt to guarantee a victory in the forthcoming elections, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) government is leaving no stone unturned

Livemint 19 Sep 2020 1:24 pm

Opinion | Deciphering the new margin rules

As per the new system, a client can individually pledge securities directly to the clearing corporation, and the securities will continue to remain in the client's accoun

Livemint 19 Sep 2020 10:22 am

Deck the clouds with the phosphine gas

If theres phosphine in clouds of Venus, there may be possibility of life on the planet

Livemint 18 Sep 2020 6:31 am

Cyber incursion

On a broader level, the incident is a reminder that the country needs to maintain a constant vigil and strengthen the security of all online systems. China, in particular

Livemint 17 Sep 2020 10:12 pm

Investor happiness can inspire a startup boom

The success of Ashok Sootas Happiest Minds IPO speaks of his entrepreneurial reputation. Its also a signal that investors are raring to bet on new ventures. Thats good fo

Livemint 17 Sep 2020 9:50 pm

A slew of crime shows has drawn out the sleuth within us

The binge watching of crime shows afforded by the lockdown seems to have immersed many of us so deeply in their storylines that their characters are part of our social me

Livemint 17 Sep 2020 9:35 pm

A wall crawl to spot when Facebook stopped being fun

As scandals swirl around the social media platform and cryptic notifications arrive on new terms of service, one could scroll back to the time it served us well as an int

Livemint 17 Sep 2020 9:16 pm

Honour Jaitleys grand bargain on GST compensation for states

The Centre should uphold its end of the deal with states as it would not only be more efficient but also help foster federalism

Livemint 17 Sep 2020 9:09 pm

Interest rate cuts are dead. Long live rate cuts

Asias central banks are moving away from reductions in borrowing costs as the primary tool of monetary easing

Livemint 17 Sep 2020 7:44 am

Online furniture brands gain from work-from-home regimen

As personal space collided with office work, people scrambled to redesign homes

Livemint 16 Sep 2020 11:21 pm

Trumps disastrous town hall: He should have never brought up mental acuity

Trump's performance was embarrassingly bad.

The Washington Post 16 Sep 2020 10:25 pm

Save our savers too

Reserve Bank of India governor Shaktikanta Das wants banks in India to care more for depositors than borrowers. Its their money, after all, that is being handed out to do

Livemint 16 Sep 2020 10:16 pm

A tax that the country should axe right away

Relieving investments in start-ups of our tax on long-term capital gains, as proposed by a parliamentary panel, would help them attract funds. Lets relieve equity portfol

Livemint 16 Sep 2020 9:54 pm

Trumps latest health-care lies reveal what a second term would look like

His spectacular imaginary health-care plan isn't quite good enough.

The Washington Post 16 Sep 2020 9:52 pm

Why Reliance Retail isnt quite the sure bet its seen to be

Economic and market realities suggest that the groups retail prospects are largely being overestimated

Livemint 16 Sep 2020 9:47 pm

The reckless brinksmanship of Boris Johnson as Brexit nears

The problem goes beyond the British prime ministers move to violate an international agreement

Livemint 16 Sep 2020 9:41 pm

The value of letting observers into Indian boardrooms

Done with clear rules, it could overcome a scarcity of board seats and also aid a firms governance

Livemint 16 Sep 2020 9:32 pm

Rationalize regulatory overlaps to unleash our digital economy

Policy coherence will prevent confusion and provide the soft-touch regulation necessary for the growth of digital markets

Livemint 16 Sep 2020 9:28 pm

ABC town hall shows Trump faces great peril outside Fox News bubble

Trump's defenders wonder why he took the risk of taking tough questions from voters.

The Washington Post 16 Sep 2020 8:06 pm

The summer Black culture pushed back

If the covid-19 pandemic and horrifying images of police violence have reminded Black Americans that the past isn't really past, this summer was full of art and images th

The Washington Post 16 Sep 2020 7:54 pm

Trumps nightmare is coming true: Two blue wall states arent even close

Without Michigan and Wisconsin, Trump would need a miracle.

The Washington Post 16 Sep 2020 7:30 pm

Opinion | Saudi-India partnership a key in addressing covid-19 crisis

As India prepares itself for G20 Presidency in 2022, it is important for the country to articulate its position based on research and consultations and its needs and requ

Livemint 16 Sep 2020 5:55 pm

Progressives shows how unchecked progressives inflict progress

Californias progressive laboratory serves as warning to the rest of the country.

The Washington Post 16 Sep 2020 4:30 pm

Taxpayers whove lost their jobs need relief

As India has no safety net for those who cant subsist on MGNREGA wages, the government should let the laid-off have a years worth of their income tax back as a zero-inter

Livemint 15 Sep 2020 9:39 pm

Monetary policy in the absence of a divine coincidence

An economy susceptible to supply shocks might need an escape clause in its policy framework

Livemint 15 Sep 2020 9:33 pm

A neglected X-factor that lies at the core of our economic stasis

The aggressive pursuit of black money has hurt animal spirits but it can yet be used for a recovery

Livemint 15 Sep 2020 9:07 pm

A glaring gap in the countrys strategy against covid-19

India needs to contain not just the pandemics spread but also the high risks posed by covid co-morbidity

Livemint 15 Sep 2020 9:02 pm

America is yet to suffer the most treacherous part of its pandemic

Sustained fatalities, tapering economic relief, political recklessness and vaccine scepticism bode ill for the US this fall season

Livemint 15 Sep 2020 8:54 pm

Opinion | Toyota needs a revisit of its business model

To claim that India has a we dont want you taxation policy after Indias historic corporate tax cut is extremely unfair to the government

Livemint 15 Sep 2020 5:36 pm

India must reset its priorities amid multiple crises

Elections are not fought on issues of public interest, but on issues coined by political leaders

Livemint 15 Sep 2020 7:43 am

The policy conundrum that stagflation poses

RBI has seen inflation hover above its tolerance limit for three successive months now. Even if its able to quell its imported component, India may not be able to escape

Livemint 14 Sep 2020 10:05 pm

The best way to vaccinate most Indians in the least time

We need both a government subsidy and a free market for vaccines to fight the covid pandemic

Livemint 14 Sep 2020 9:58 pm

India needs a new strategy for an era of a weakening US dollar

Our forex management needs revision in response to the US Feds new monetary policy framework

Livemint 14 Sep 2020 9:53 pm

A coalition that could help secure our Afghan interests

New Delhi, Tehran and Moscow could coordinate their efforts on Afghanistan as the US exits

Livemint 14 Sep 2020 9:49 pm

We must renew our commitment to enhancing Indias forest cover

Californias wildfires remind us that climate change is real and the quest to increase our green cover needs a fresh impetus

Livemint 14 Sep 2020 9:43 pm

How to fight back against coronavirus vaccine phobia

Its possible to debunk misinformation, above all by emphasizing facts, and not drawing a lot of attention to falsehoods

Livemint 14 Sep 2020 11:59 am

Will China hold up its side of the truce bargain?

India needs to assume that it will be at the receiving end of more Chinese aggression

Livemint 14 Sep 2020 7:43 am

Brace for a churn

While its true that multi-cap funds are supposed to vary their stock selection, making fund managers adhere to a stiff ratio of stock categories would force them to manag

Livemint 13 Sep 2020 9:53 pm

It is time India gave its policy on Tibet some strategic coherence

Beijing is in a strong position but New Delhi should resist Chinas efforts to consolidate its current hold on Tibetan politics

Livemint 13 Sep 2020 8:14 pm

The caution that marks our corporate optimism

A Mint-Bain survey of CEOs reveals that many hope to emerge stronger from covid. But even companies that pivot well to a post-pandemic order could be let down by a weak e

Livemint 13 Sep 2020 8:06 pm

The art of survival in a world of unknowing zombies

The hero is you and it begins when you notice that everyone around you is behaving in a strange manner

Livemint 13 Sep 2020 8:00 pm

Hollywoods craven surrender to blatant Chinese censorship

US filmmakers are kowtowing to Chinese audiences at the cost of others as well as artistic freedom

Livemint 13 Sep 2020 7:29 pm

How to be happy during a pandemic

The instinct is to save money, but if you have it, wed all be better off if you spent it

Livemint 13 Sep 2020 6:52 pm

Decoding Operation Twist the act of RBI during covid-19

Whether it's the pandemic induced global crisis, the fiscal cliff, or regulations, businesses are not willing to hire until they are sure the demand will be there

Livemint 13 Sep 2020 12:17 pm

Opinion | Collections and dispute resolution - hope, faith and more for lenders

As a greater number of disputes are expected to flood the market in the aftermath of this healthcare crisis, online dispute resolution is probably the missing piece in th

Livemint 13 Sep 2020 11:28 am

A date nearly two millennia in the making

Judean dates grown by researchers is a remarkable model for seed longevity study

Livemint 10 Sep 2020 11:39 pm

Its time to rid the EPFO of investment opacity

The internal contradictions of this state-run manager of our retirement funds are bubbling up to the surface now, as seen in its split payout for the year. Our provident

Livemint 10 Sep 2020 10:04 pm

Death of romance amid a pandemic of twisted hearts

As we brace for a post-covid world of thermal scanners, tracker apps and other dystopic stuff, one wonders how it will affect romance. Will lovers, for instance, ever get

Livemint 10 Sep 2020 9:59 pm

The policy adventurism that has led India to its economic woes

Moves made without preparation may have contributed more to our GDP contraction than covid

Livemint 10 Sep 2020 9:53 pm

Lessons from a self-reliant enterprise of face masks

Our quest for self-reliance could inspire one to undertake such missions as using handloom fabric to make masks, but only at the risk of exposing the limits of ones skill

Livemint 10 Sep 2020 9:43 pm

The global technology fracture and our regulatory inadequacies

At best, expect a patchwork of rules that let countries pursue their core interests without exporting their problems to others

Livemint 10 Sep 2020 9:33 pm

Brands favour eyeballs over ad climate on TV

Brands are driven by the ROI metric that doesnt yet get guided by softer aspects

Livemint 10 Sep 2020 8:34 am

Obscurity may be the middle ground

Delisting search results invokes th power of obscurity, a measure that looks to make information safer by making it hard to obtain

Livemint 10 Sep 2020 7:10 am

Address attitudes

For this, perhaps we should call upon the services of our advertising industry. Creative juices need to get flowing for a high-impact public service campaign, one that ca

Livemint 9 Sep 2020 9:22 pm

The challenge of inflation amid a massive shock to our economy

Persistent price pressures make it harder for our central bank to manage conflicting economic forces and ensure stability

Livemint 9 Sep 2020 8:36 pm

The juggernaut that is Reliance Retail rolls on

Mukesh Ambanis deal-making spree seems endless. Silver Lake has purchased a sliver of Reliances old retail business too, lured perhaps by its chances of overall market do

Livemint 9 Sep 2020 8:34 pm

An education system for a country of entrepreneurs

Academic life in India has begun to foster the development of entrepreneurial attitudes and expertise

Livemint 9 Sep 2020 8:27 pm

Abandoned pet dogs and other signs of the moral crisis we face

We could choose inaction as humanity is cast aside or fight to uphold the values that we cherish

Livemint 9 Sep 2020 8:21 pm

India can soon be the tech garage of the world

Govt should act as a catalyst with the aim of innovating for India and the world

Livemint 9 Sep 2020 7:40 am

Act before its too late

Saving fiscal firepower for later may sound prudent, given how long our covid crisis is expected to last, but it is still inadvisable. The longer we delay pump-priming, t

Livemint 8 Sep 2020 10:22 pm

Structural interventions could avert a banking crisis

Fix anomalies and market distortions so that credit can be allocated in ways that are best for India

Livemint 8 Sep 2020 8:21 pm

Indias economy could yet avert an L-shaped curve from here on

We need deficit-financed and well-aimed initiatives that generate multiplier effects and initiate a virtuous cycle of growth

Livemint 8 Sep 2020 8:20 pm

Consent-to-port: A new mechanism to protect our data

A specific okay for third-party data transfers would let us judge usage proposals case by case

Livemint 8 Sep 2020 8:08 pm

Liberals must share much of the blame for a US at war with itself

The left-liberal elites intolerance of alternate ideas is partly responsible for Americas polarization

Livemint 8 Sep 2020 8:03 pm

Opinion | Curbing Chinese aggression is the need of the hour

Indias army will now take action on border movement and diplomats will negotiate

Livemint 8 Sep 2020 8:35 am

An act of justice

It would be best if the Union took on any extra debt needed for GST shortages to be plugged. That would put an end to the dispute and foster a sense of national unity in

Livemint 7 Sep 2020 11:13 pm

The big heroic role that venture capital can play

A post-pandemic economic revival calls for innovative ventures backed by VC funds doing the sort of high-risk intermediation that only they can. Dont count on priority-se

Livemint 7 Sep 2020 9:10 pm

A two-third, one-third problem of Indian federalism

States get too little tax money for the spending they do and itll be a relief if they get their full GST compensation

Livemint 7 Sep 2020 8:57 pm

The silver lining around Indias GDP cloud and what to do now

The Q1 setback may have redeemed our data in critics eyes and rallied opinion for another stimulus

Livemint 7 Sep 2020 8:50 pm

Even big data cant foretell wholl win the White House

For all their trumped up powers of prediction, algorithms are clueless about the outcome

Livemint 7 Sep 2020 8:43 pm

Like it or not, but babudom is poised for a makeover

The current moment is the right time to begin the reform process in bureaucracy

Livemint 7 Sep 2020 7:29 am

Get real, Beijing

No matter how well laid, military manoeuvre plans risk going awry, because hostilities could take an escalation path that neither side can control. The ideal way out of t

Livemint 6 Sep 2020 9:18 pm

We should reinforce our red carpet with reforms

Modi has taken a chance offered by China-aversion in the US to pitch India on trust as a global hub for manufacturing. Its time for us to magnetize the appeal of Make in

Livemint 6 Sep 2020 8:29 pm

It was the idea of debt that created the modern world

Money emerged from debt and morality from the fable of creditors that a debt always had to be repaid

Livemint 6 Sep 2020 8:23 pm

Its time for India to regulate the internets social media platforms

The country must ensure their compliance with constitutional provisions and limits on free speech

Livemint 6 Sep 2020 8:14 pm

Indias growth story has never seemed so endangered

The hysteresis effects of our lockdown may be so severe that even big reforms wont achieve much

Livemint 6 Sep 2020 7:33 pm

What should be done for our economy to chart a recovery

Increase public spending to stimulate demand and push for efficiency-enhancing reforms to raise post-covid growth prospects

Livemint 6 Sep 2020 7:16 pm

India needs an open capital account by 2025

With Indian debt finally being pushed into global indices and India more clearly aligning with the West and Japan geopolitically, now is the right time to bravely reimagi

Livemint 5 Sep 2020 5:16 pm

NEP is all good, but what about jobs?

The policy seeks to revolutionize education but if the educated 18-year-olds are not employable, the policy might fall short of expectations

Livemint 4 Sep 2020 3:36 pm

Covid positivity: a heavy load, does it explode?

If positivity rate is rising, the virus may be spreading faster than the case count suggests

Livemint 4 Sep 2020 7:32 am

Under the carpet

If the pandemic gets judicially deemed an 'act of God', as our finance minister Nirmala Sitharaman recently called it, then borrowers, too, could seek refuge in the 'forc

Livemint 3 Sep 2020 10:36 pm

Yes, minister, our civil services need a reboot

At last, our bureaucracy is in for a shake-up, thanks to Mission Karmayogi. The proof of its success will lie in eventual outcomes. Lets not rely on centralized oversight

Livemint 3 Sep 2020 10:07 pm

I-me-and-myself: Our meanness quotient just went up

We kid ourselves if we think the pandemic has made people more empathetic. Thats like believing that posting videos of animals implies one has got more appreciative of na

Livemint 3 Sep 2020 10:02 pm

The big promise of Elon Musks neuralink with extended reality

Brain-machine interface technology could be combined with XR tools to do truly astonishing things

Livemint 3 Sep 2020 9:55 pm

Ninety-six shades of emotion in todays age of emojis

The hullabaloo on TV over a young womans alleged role in an actors shortened life makes one wonder why facial expressions, or a lack thereof, are taken so easily as signi

Livemint 3 Sep 2020 9:39 pm

The very concept of cooperative federalism needs resuscitation

Centre-state relations have soured not just over the GST compensation dispute but also a lack of central assistance to the states

Livemint 3 Sep 2020 9:27 pm

Opinion | Digitalisation - The Catalyst for the new age of insurance

A case for embedding digital infrastructure for safety, convenience, and experience. Digitalisation offers a win-win proposition by providing convenience and choice of pl

Livemint 3 Sep 2020 11:06 am

Trump is winning the vaccine debate with public-health experts

The question of how quickly the FDA should approve a vaccine is inherently political

Livemint 3 Sep 2020 10:01 am

Real-time data is far more relevantRealtimedatas more relevant as it loses va

The government should realise that innovation will flourish without paternalistic regulations. Provide them the opportunity to grow, and our entrepreneurs will build bett

Livemint 3 Sep 2020 7:14 am

Lifeline for Voda

As some analysts have argued, Vodafone Idea could generate value if market conditions turn relatively benign, allowing it to raise tariffs. There are signs that user char

Livemint 2 Sep 2020 10:36 pm