SENSEX
NIFTY
GOLD
USD/INR

Weather

33    C
... ...View News by News Source

Decoding CBDTs clarification on non-residents

The CBDT has sought info so that it can check whether any relaxation is required

Livemint 9 Mar 2021 5:06 am

Offence could well be the best defence in cyber warfare

India must be prepared to strike back at shadowy Chinese-backed cyber warriors if need be

Livemint 8 Mar 2021 10:13 pm

Citigroup needs a new strategy for its consumer banks in Asia

New CEO Jane Fraser shouldnt oversimplify the banks operations

Livemint 8 Mar 2021 10:07 pm

Is flexible inflation targeting still fit for the purpose it must

It may not be ideal but is still the best among various choices available of a monetary policy system aimed at macro

Livemint 8 Mar 2021 10:03 pm

Job quotas will not do much to raise local recruitment

A carrot plan that incentivises firms to hire locally would work much better than a job-quota stick

Livemint 8 Mar 2021 9:58 pm

How India could speed up the financial inclusion of women

Relevant data analysis and an outreach by women business correspondents can close our gender gap

Livemint 8 Mar 2021 9:52 pm

Does India have the infra to go all electric

The Economic Times 8 Mar 2021 3:21 pm

The opportunity covid offers to make workplaces more gender equal

The big shift in the way we work has made it easier for women to work. Women leaders must cease the opportunity and lead an

Livemint 8 Mar 2021 11:24 am

Real issues have taken a back seat in high-pitched poll battle

Leaders are either making exaggerated accusations or indulging in political stunts

Livemint 8 Mar 2021 5:53 am

The rising trend of women in the field of philanthropy

Philanthropic endeavours by Indian business families are increasingly being led by women

Livemint 7 Mar 2021 10:52 pm

The #MeToo movement needs to gain force across the world

Australias current scandal is only one of many that need exposure

Livemint 7 Mar 2021 10:48 pm

The path towards a better gender ratio in higher education is clear

Enable women to balance academic and research careers with other responsibilities, offer mentorship, and count on passion

Livemint 7 Mar 2021 10:44 pm

The return of puzzling numbers for Indias GDP growth

The Centres plan to pay off food subsidy arrears is likely to distort our GDP readings for multiple years

Livemint 7 Mar 2021 10:33 pm

Bill Gates on climate change and the dollars exorbitant privilege

The currencys special status was bolstered by global trade in a commodity the world must give up

Livemint 7 Mar 2021 10:29 pm

Safety as priority

The state has good reason to intervene in markets where private choices are not always rational, and this is an example

Livemint 7 Mar 2021 10:22 pm

Which covid vaccine is the best, Moderna, Pfizer or Johnson &

Theres no data one way or the other one whether vaccination cuts the risk of long Covid for those who get sick, but all the

Livemint 7 Mar 2021 9:10 am

Google puts lid on cookie jar and ends an internet era

Privacy concerns and technological innovation are changing how users are tracked online, but targeted ads arent going

Livemint 5 Mar 2021 6:06 pm

US vaccine hoarding is alienating the world

By insisting on inoculating all Americans before releasing doses for other countries, the Biden administration is undermining

Livemint 5 Mar 2021 5:49 pm

Will Indians open up to virtual money

The Economic Times 5 Mar 2021 2:37 pm

Sizing up dinosaurs: the juveniles have it

Megatheropod juveniles constrained the flowering of the dinosaur species

Livemint 4 Mar 2021 11:15 pm

A tale of 111 cities

Its no surprise that the top 10 cities in the million-plus category are in south and west India, the countrys most prosperous

Livemint 4 Mar 2021 10:58 pm

A single weeks phone detox and a whole life reclaimed

Few experiences match the missed heartbeats of a smashed phone just before a flight. But it need not be a crisis. Indeed, it

Livemint 4 Mar 2021 10:25 pm

Growth calls for an emphasis on our connectivity infrastructure

We should structure public expenditure to get more out of what was built earlier by allocating enough funds for maintenance

Livemint 4 Mar 2021 10:15 pm

Our foreign trade policy should focus on online exports

To generate jobs by the million, we should focus our export thrust on overseas sales by small enterprises via the internet.

Livemint 4 Mar 2021 10:10 pm

Network effects: You may swipe out if you like but can never leave

Theres a special reason that social media apps with the most users are so hard for people to give up

Livemint 4 Mar 2021 10:03 pm

Cricket rules cant vary but its pitches sure can

Englands Test loss to India at Ahmedabad drew grumbles over the quality of a pitch that let spinners dominate. But, hey,

Livemint 4 Mar 2021 9:58 pm

Nudge top talent to change systems in India

It is a unique period in our history when governments are collaborating deeply with private partners towards ambitious goals

Livemint 4 Mar 2021 8:30 pm

Should fuel prices be brought under GST

The Economic Times 4 Mar 2021 2:53 pm

Facing new-age risk is a big challenge for life insurers: ABSLI's

As of now, covid claims form 12% of the total numbers at ABSLI. A medical report which confirms that the life insured has

Livemint 4 Mar 2021 1:54 pm

Will ABFRLs designer label plan work

Recently, ABFRL announced that it was joining hands with fashion designer Tarun Tahiliani to sell contemporary ethnic

Livemint 3 Mar 2021 11:04 pm

Audit reforms should go far beyond knee-jerk reactions

Our attempts so far to raise quality have been too feeble to address the issues that matter most

Livemint 3 Mar 2021 9:46 pm

Big Oil has turned bearish on the future of its main product

Producers no longer care about shoring up their crude oil reserves

Livemint 3 Mar 2021 9:41 pm

A privatization plan that heralds the rise of the Indian elephant

Its implementation in true letter and spirit could prove to be a game changer for our economy just as the 1991 reforms were

Livemint 3 Mar 2021 9:36 pm

A misunderstood minority gets further marginalized

A couple of new books serve us a sharp reminder of how badly we might be failing our secular ideals

Livemint 3 Mar 2021 9:32 pm

Restoration of its parliament is the only way ahead for Myanmar

Its the only legitimate body to initiate a redraft of its constitution and also what its people want

Livemint 3 Mar 2021 9:25 pm

Our love of self-reliance and the perils of autarky

India isnt turning inward again, avers our government, even as recent tweaks of policy echo past dreams of self-sufficiency.

Livemint 3 Mar 2021 9:20 pm

Equalizer for equity

Perhaps Sebis proposal will help arouse wider interest. But first, all holders of a firms stock must see themselves as owners

Livemint 2 Mar 2021 10:41 pm

Beyond the Bezos vs Ambani battle for Indias retail market

Another war rages over control of what corner shops stock and sell

Livemint 2 Mar 2021 10:26 pm

Why China suddenly decided to place Alibaba under its scanner

A speech by Jack Ma may have played the trigger but its a story of bureaucratic inertia followed by arbitrary law enforcement

Livemint 2 Mar 2021 10:25 pm

The lessons our infra push can learn from the IT sector

India should use a capability creation model of project management to achieve its ambitious goals

Livemint 2 Mar 2021 10:20 pm

Lets not snatch liberty away by busting end-to-end encryption

The use of message traceability to identify a few criminals will mean were all treated as offenders

Livemint 2 Mar 2021 10:19 pm

Cyber safety is too vital to be caught napping on

While the Centre denies that a Chinese cyber attack snapped off Mumbais power last year, a state-level probe and a US report

Livemint 2 Mar 2021 10:18 pm

What must be done to make the most of a sweet spot India is in

Charles Goodhart and Manoj Pradhans The Great Demographic Reversal could not be timelier

Livemint 2 Mar 2021 5:33 am

Educated youth should put their privilege to good use

This is that time of the year when business schools across the country prepare to admit students for two years of intense

Livemint 2 Mar 2021 5:20 am

Allow a vibrant market for vaccines to emerge

Indian immunization will get a boost if people are granted their choice of jabs. A pathway to an open market without price

Livemint 1 Mar 2021 11:11 pm

Banks will take 12-18 months to show covid symptoms

Early signs suggest that government measures such as the Emergency Credit Linked Guarantee Scheme (ECLGS) is providing some

Livemint 1 Mar 2021 11:01 pm

India needs greater devolution of funds and authority to thrive

The 15th Finance Commission missed its chance to fix imbalances and pre-empt deeper political discontent over federalism

Livemint 1 Mar 2021 11:00 pm

Bitcoin is not exactly immune to disputes over its protocols

No sooner did US Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen warn about Bitcoins inefficiency early last week than cryptocurrency prices

Livemint 1 Mar 2021 10:57 pm

Mass exit can erode Indian cryptocurrency investors' wealth: Sumit

''Initially we launched the exchange using our own savings. Subsequently we managed to raise money from investors, even after

Livemint 1 Mar 2021 2:07 pm

There's not much to worry about inflation in 2021

Beyond March, the base effect is favourable, which will ease headline inflation

Livemint 1 Mar 2021 5:28 am

Opinion | Female voters have a big role to play in deciding Bengals

The biggest reason is that about 35 million female voters of Bengal can play a big role

Livemint 28 Feb 2021 11:56 pm

Fish for chips to solve Indias latest geo-economic crisis

We must secure our own chip supplies as they grow scarce and a global battle rages over them

Livemint 28 Feb 2021 9:54 pm

The greenback could yet prove more robust than most expect

Too many investors have gone excessively short on the US dollar

Livemint 28 Feb 2021 9:54 pm

Getting offended may have just got harder for Indians

New rules for OTT platforms could liberate storytellers from the tyranny of the thin-skinned

Livemint 28 Feb 2021 9:26 pm

Online content regulation: The good, the odd and the untenable

Affixing accountability and age-gating are good but its catch-all approach raises legal questions

Livemint 28 Feb 2021 9:24 pm

Our social media rules mustnt gag free speech

The dangers of incendiary stuff do justify the regulation of online content, but Indias new regulatory system grants the

Livemint 28 Feb 2021 9:24 pm

Vaccinating the world against Covid-19 can take a lesson from polio

Like the coronavirus, polio came with fear, misinformation, and a long tail of damage. History has lessons for

Livemint 28 Feb 2021 5:15 pm

IPRs & WTO waivers in the time of COVID-19

Developing countries have sought for a waiver from the WTO in the TRIPS agreement that would allow for IPRs to be relaxed in

Livemint 28 Feb 2021 4:35 pm

Cheer up, our economys back in the black

A 0.4% expansion in GDP in the October-December quarter marks India's emergence from a technical recession, validating the

Livemint 26 Feb 2021 8:45 pm

Opinion | Faceless income tax tribunal: Whether the face can be

The Income Tax Appellate Tribunal being a final fact-finding authority, a personal hearing will afford members a better

Livemint 26 Feb 2021 6:18 pm

Why stocks crashed today

This fall was primarily on account of the US government bond yields going up. The US government sells bonds which pay a

Livemint 26 Feb 2021 4:17 pm

Dear diary, petrols at a whopping 100

Entries over last 16 years reveal that BJP has done well in controlling the price of petrol

Livemint 25 Feb 2021 11:44 pm

Whos watching

While a 'self-regulatory body' under the Centres oversight will oversee compliance with a 'Code of Ethics' that could be open

Livemint 25 Feb 2021 11:43 pm

Its never too late to rethink ones own brand purpose

We tend to define ourselves by our financial success, job profile or educational qualifications. But just as a brand needs to

Livemint 25 Feb 2021 10:32 pm

A strong dollar policy doesnt serve US interests any longer

America needs both reserve diversification and a new Plaza Accord

Livemint 25 Feb 2021 10:23 pm

Mars and other planets offer us an opportunity we mustnt lose

Lets ease private participation and nudge India towards a scientific pursuit of space exploration driven by economic aims

Livemint 25 Feb 2021 10:19 pm

India should focus on job creation for balanced growth

Our effort to revive GDP growth is laudable, but the generation of jobs needs special attention. State support measures

Livemint 25 Feb 2021 10:13 pm

We must intervene to fight off a crisis of hunger and malnutrition

Policy attention is focused on economic growth while we need to address an issue of greater gravity

Livemint 25 Feb 2021 10:07 pm

Indians are overworked while millions go jobless

We work longer hours on average than most workers elsewhere. While explanations vary, whats clear is that our economy has too

Livemint 25 Feb 2021 10:01 pm

All hands on deck

The only sensible response is to get as many hands on the deck as possible. Thankfully, this is what the Centre is trying,

Livemint 24 Feb 2021 11:31 pm

End brinkmanship and go for a win-win on farm laws

Lets help create conditions for both sides of this standoff to adopt strategic thinking to their mutual benefit

Livemint 24 Feb 2021 10:31 pm

The plea to reopen schools from within a wilderness of paradoxes

A visit to villages deep within a jungle reveals acute distress and desperation for classes to resume

Livemint 24 Feb 2021 10:30 pm

A sensible reminder of our principles of justice

While Tuesdays court order for Disha Ravis release widely evoked sighs of relief, its judicial reasoning also deserves

Livemint 24 Feb 2021 10:28 pm

Patience please: Indias ASEAN journey has much further to go

Lets not dismiss our free trade agreement with this bloc as a failure without assessing its actual gains and future potential

Livemint 24 Feb 2021 10:27 pm

A new vocabulary for climate change will help tackle it

Sustainability behaviour will be easy to foster if we use terms that are easily grasped across the world

Livemint 24 Feb 2021 10:25 pm

Indian investors can benefit from higher oil prices

Unfortunately, its quite difficult to get direct oil exposure via Indian markets

Livemint 24 Feb 2021 5:47 am

Bitcoin or blip coin

As tokens of exchange, they have no intrinsic value whatsoever, and serve largely as speculative targets in a world flush

Livemint 23 Feb 2021 9:48 pm

Chinas weaponization of rare earths is very likely to backfire

An export ban on their refining technology will beget alternatives

Livemint 23 Feb 2021 9:24 pm

Employers planning to go the gig economy way should think again

The gig model would need a rethink if the rationale of a UK ruling on Uber drivers being employees is held valid in India too

Livemint 23 Feb 2021 9:19 pm

The bargain that Big Tech is striking with Big Media

Revenue sharing deals between tech platforms and big news firms may leave consumers worse off

Livemint 23 Feb 2021 9:10 pm

The relevance of a century-old Indian report on protectionism

Supporters of tariff barriers will find much to learn in the principles and consequences it enunciates

Livemint 23 Feb 2021 9:05 pm

Going easy on inflation now will be far too risky

The CEAs argument of supply constraints blunting RBIs policy tools is not new. Nor does it justify easing our inflation

Livemint 23 Feb 2021 9:01 pm

Share the wealth

PE firms, angel investors must be rewarded for their role in our startup ecosystem. For their next stage of growth, though,

Livemint 22 Feb 2021 11:17 pm

Ubers loss of a UK labour case could impact gig firms

The British decision could pave the way for gig-economy casual workers to get the rights they deserve

Livemint 22 Feb 2021 10:46 pm

Macroeconomics has four big truths that we must not ignore

But macro assertions that go beyond these four could be contested

Livemint 22 Feb 2021 10:45 pm

India should consider repealing its highly controversial farm laws

Wider choice for farmers does sound good but a close look at the enactments would show why their fear of exploitation is real

Livemint 22 Feb 2021 10:44 pm

Stealth attacks will not be able to fund our fiscal deficit

Anonymous bond-buying by RBI cant go too far but India can explore options like a big loan against equity

Livemint 22 Feb 2021 10:42 pm

The bond markets non-taper tantrum is odd but explainable

That US Treasury yields rose despite the Feds no-taper promise suggests a return of inflation fears

Livemint 22 Feb 2021 10:37 pm

Let private services step up our vaccination drive

Its time for Indias government to get real, admit its tardy progress on covid immunization and let the private sector chip in

Livemint 22 Feb 2021 10:29 pm